Posted 20 hours ago

Be Careful What You Wish For (The Clifton Chronicles) (The Clifton Chronicles, 4)

ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
Joined in 2023

About this deal

My review in a nutshell is that Be Careful What You Wish For is an awesome follow up to Best Kept Secret and should not be read without starting the first in the series. Archer tells us that Lady Virginia is suing in "both defamation and slander" when he clearly means libel and slander (both of which are defamation). Some reading and cover corner creases, light shelf wear with slight loss to cover gilding, paper lightly edge toned. Each character has their own agenda and through a series of complex machinations Archer builds disparate segments of the story which come together in a rather dramatic fashion.

I have learned through Jeffrey Archer that with greatness comes a whole sort of problems and the only way to make it through is by thinking two steps ahead of the enemy. They are there, playing their parts but I really don't have any feeling for them one way or another. The next book, Mightier Than the Sword will be published on 24 February 2015 [4] and Archer has stated that Margaret Thatcher will make an appearance.As for me, I will be starting 'Mightier Than the Sword' just as soon as I press the 'submit' button at the bottom of this review . Don Pedro Martinez, a powerful new enemy of the Cliftons, uses his company shares in an attempt to place a hand-picked candidate in the chairmanship. Cover design uncredited with images courtesy of Roger-Violett/Rex Features and PA Archive/Press Association Images. The soap opera that is the lives of the Clifton and Barrington families continues in this fourth entry in the Clifton Chronicles.

Back in London, Harry and Emma’s adopted daughter wins a scholarship to the Slade Academy of Art where she falls in love with a fellow student, Clive Bingham, who asks her to marry him. The Chelsea Magistrates, and the advocates who appear in front of them, apparently wear gowns and transfer criminal cases - without any investigation of the facts - to the High Court (they might have committed them to the Assizes, Central Criminal Court or Quarter Sessions but not to the High Court and never without first hearing committal proceedings). In a turn of events, Cedric Hardcastle takes a position on Barringtons’ board, and the outcome of the chairman vote becomes more uncertain.

As the novels progress the author focuses more on the next generation of Clifton's and how there life progresses. Continuing with the fourth installment of Clifton Chronicles, this takes the reader through the lives of the Barrington and Clifton families. or could this be the foundation for book 5 which will be out in year 2015; hence stories seems to be so scattered ? The approach I am speaking off is his storytelling ability that produces a wonderful family saga in the CLIFTON CHRONICLES with each volume ending in a cliff hanger that gently encourages the reader to pick up the next installment. He has written 27 novels, 7 sets of short stories, 3 prison diaries, 3 plays (all of which have been performed in London's West End) and a gospel.

The British intelligence service is continually active in the novel as Sir Alan contemplates assassinating Martinez and is heavily involved in thwarting the Argentinian kingpin who likes to pose as an English gentleman. Clifton Chronicles in the fourth episode first drifts then decays and by the end simply disintegrates into a purposeless record of a barely interesting family.

Be Careful What You Wish For, the fourth instalment in Jeffrey Archer's The Clifton Chronicles, opens with Harry Clifton and his wife Emma rushing to hospital to learn the fate of their son Sebastian, who has been involved in a fatal car accident. Don Pedro Martinez tries to get his own candidate to lead the company, [3] and Yorkshire banker Cedric Hardcastle joins the board. Be Careful What You Wish For begins where leaves off barely allowing a moment to breath before getting swept away in the lives of a family that seems to attract the most ruthless villains. I have read all the previous books in The Clifton Chronicles and looked forward to this one with great anticipation. Another thrilling edge of your seat book by Archer, as we are now on the 4th episode of the Clifton family chronicles.

The cover may have some limited signs of wear but the pages are clean, intact and the spine remains undamaged. You will be astonished and at the same time equally keen to know about the turn of events that has taken place in the end.Be Careful What You Wish For is the fourth novel in the Clifton Chronicles, set primarily in England and spanning the years 1957 to 1964. Complete with another stunning Archer cliffhanger, the novel ends just as the reader is hopeless hooked. Jeffrey Archer forces me, and other readers alike, to wait a whole year before we can get the book 5 in the Clifton Chronicles? During the war, when he was behind enemy lines, Harry had trained himself to stay awake for thirty-six hours, only surviving on the adrenaline of fear. I'm still reeling over one sadly inevitable outcome and am genuinely on edge as to the fate of some of my favourite characters.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment