276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Black Widow: The true crime book of the year

£9.495£18.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

These would be minor things but for the fact that the whole plot centers around religion, so to have such an obvious confusion of facts on the main subject matter was a head-scratcher to me. While this was not a fast paced, nail biting thriller it WAS a very character driven drama, mystery, thriller.

Be’, comunque noi ora il nostro equilibrio l’abbiamo trovato, e, come dice Tina, la gente farà meglio a lasciarci in pace. Through the course of the book, we learn more about each wife, her relationships with the other wives and her relationship with Blake.

A stunning stand-alone thriller following a Detroit cop's hunt for a serial killer like no other, from the bestselling authors of The Noise. He has written many other number one bestsellers including collaborations with President Bill Clinton and Dolly Parton, stand-alone thrillers and non-fiction. However, I do think it is a good incite to that world and many people will have a positive experience listening to this audiobook. We have updated our Privacy Policy, effective June 29, 2020, to clarify how we collect and process your personal data.

It’s no surprise why this book was named Scottish Crime Book of the Year in 2016— there’s an undercurrent of intensity running throughout BLACK WIDOW that demands the reader’s attention from first page to last, and an assurance to Brookmyre’s writing that is an absolute pleasure to read.

The first wife, Rachel is obedient and doting to a fault, but she's a past she'd prefer to keep quiet. Jason had scorned her, lied to her, behaved too badly for him to be left alive, forcing her to kill… again. You can catch my interview with Chris here—if you’re new to his work, this interview will be the perfect introduction to it. Blake Nelson has married to three women, Rachel the first wife, Emily the second wife and Tina the third wife. Is it legal wife one, Rachel, quietly obedient or maybe sister wife two ex Catholic naive Emily or is it worldly wise sister wife three Tina, the ‘cuckoo’ in their nest?

Even if she never visited Utah or spoke with any members of the LDS church, or any polygamous sect, she could have done a better job. Still on the mend from his own relationship wounds after a turbulent divorce, Parlabane’s investigation into matters of the heart takes him to hidden places, online and off, no one should ever have to go. That being said, I’ve personally felt a certain amount of fatigue with recent lighter suspense novels that can sometimes feel, to me, like marketing grabs—books labeled “psychological thrillers” to appeal to readers of THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN and GONE GIRL without really delivering comparable content. But in 1990, after years of living in fear of her lover Ronnie Cook, Linda finds herself accused of his murder in a trial that shocks the nation.

If you're looking for a trashy, juicy read and you love cults and bigamy/polygamy, then go right ahead. That said the Mormons actually frown upon a marriage with more than one wife I learned from this book. The Black Widow: Novels book series by Margaret Stohl includes books Black Widow: Forever Red and Black Widow: Red Vengeance. Brookmyre’s masterful plotting allows him to deliver twists that are shocking without being overdone and surprising without being illogical. The book begins with Blake, an FLDS member, and over-the-top doomsday prepper (what a great combo), found dead on his remote Utah ranch.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment